A Lovely Short Story

“Why does he love her if she doesn’t wear like any makeup?” Brittany asked her friends, who were all wearing enough makeup to cover their entire faces to their necks. 

“She’s fake duh!” remarked Natalie 

“Yeah and she’s also a bitch, I mean look at her she doesn’t eat a damn thing I bet she just barfs it up in the toilet” laughed Genevieve 

“Probably!” chimed the boys Justin and Sam in unison 

They giggled at her, her long brown hair nicely combed, looking like the waves of the ocean  after a tide, small ripples of curls, her fingers were curled around her book The Picture of Dorian Grey. She always seemed to have a book in her hands or a sketchbook in hand, she always sat by herself but today a boy had chosen to sit next to her. 

She sometimes wore her geeky glasses and sometimes wore skirts and dresses, always in style. That made Brittany and the girls angry with her. How could she be so comfortable being who she is? they found it completely disgusting. 

“I hate her” sneered Genevieve, “I want her to just die, I mean what a narcissistic bitch”  

She had always heard them saying such rude things about her and gossiping, yeah it hurt but it was their problem and not hers. She put the book down as she noticed someone at her table. 

“Hey” he said smiling at her. 

“umm Hi” she said back feeling shy. 

“I watch you here all the time, you read and you write and you create things” he stated sort of blushing 

She wanted to ask him why he did it? and why did he find her so interesting? but she shut her mouth and bit her lip instead. Unsure if how to respond to that she quieltly replied with a small.. “Thanks” and a slight smile. 

“What’s your name?” he questioned, baring a grin that seemed to bring a smile onto her own face. 

“Don’t laugh” she said “but it’s not really a common name, though I have met other girls who have it..” 

“Try me” he spoke gently still displaying that smile of his 

“Zaltu” she said tenderly “but people just call me Z” 

“Interesting” he said “So you were named after a goddess, a goddess of love and a goddess of strife?” 

“Yeah, pretty much” she replied with a giggle. “I guess it fits me though, I don’t think I’m actually human most of the time, just wait till you get to know me” 

“Oh.. Well I cant wait to get to know you better! how about I take you out Z? are you a coffee shop kind of girl or a explore the mall kind of girl?” he asked as he scooted closer to her. 

“Why not just coffee at the mall? then a nice stroll around the lake?” she spoke with a smile and a brilliant sparkle appeared in her precious eyes of paris green, her red lipstick brought out the green in her eyes, she pushed her hair back. 

“Alright sounds good, I’ll pick you up at 4:30” he grinned, clearly admiring her and it was quite obvious that he wanted her and not just everything connected to her. 

“What is your name?” she asked “I mean you know mine and you know about me so what’s your name?” 

“Roger” he said “I paint, write music, create things with my hands, read, camp, think more then I should and am a huge nerd” 

“Well it’s nice to meet you Roger, here’s my number and address for you” she handed him a piece of paper, it had a small doodle and the information he needed 

“How about I walk you to art class before I go to calculus?” he said sweetly 

“Well alright” 

They got up and made their way to the classroom, talking all the way about interests and characteristics they admired in each other, it was as if they could both feel the connection already . Such a beautiful thing. 

“I’ll call you later” he said as he gave her a hug 

“Okay, talk to you later” 

They parted ways, both not knowing that they would end up more entwined then a ball or yarn in the end of it all as the years would go by. 

Now that’s what a call quite a lovely story. 

 

Leave a comment